2017 – Mt Gambier

January 25, 2017 4:45 pm

The 2017 Teys Australia Angus Youth National Roundup took place in Mt Gambier SA on the 12 – 15 January 2017.

Held over 4 days, the Roundup attracted 122 participants from ages 8 to 25 with all levels of cattle experience and provided both a learning and fun experience for all.

The educational sessions were delivered by experts in the industry & included topics such as halter making, livestock nutrition, animal selection as well as creating a business.

The competitions at the event included the Paraders classes, Junior Judging & Herdsperson competition.

The Special Dinner Dance was held on the Saturday night with 270 people in attendance. Thank-you to Laryn Gogel from SAL for leading the auction which raised money for Angus Youth.

Featured lots in the auction included a headbail, several elite embryo and semen packages, artwork, as well as a large amount of items featured in the silent auction.

The Roundup is supported by Teys Australia, Angus Youth and Angus Australia, however, the event is coordinated by a young and enthusiastic committee who volunteer their time to ensure the success of this annual event. This year’s committee went above and beyond the usual call of duty to ensure that the 2017 Roundup was a success.

Angus Youth National Roundup Results

Trans-Tasman Exchange – Kate Schoen

Bulliac Studmaster Award – Georgia Laurie

Outwest Angus National All Breeds Heifer Show Award – Georgia Laurie

Lanark Angus SA Junior Heifer Expo Award – Sophie Halliday

Merridale Angus Aspiring Breeder Award – Marshall Arnold

Matthew George Citizenship Award – Angus McGregor

EJ Angus Encouragement Award – Stephanie Hennings

Champion Team – City of Mt Gambier

Best Presented Animal – Lachie McLauchlan

Best Maintained Stall – Harry Turnham

Best Maintained Group – Bulliac

PeeWee    ……….
Junior Sub-Inter Intermediate Senior
Herdsman Champion Emma Parker Emily Pendlebury Phoebe Christie Georgia Laurie Marshall Arnold
Reserve Champion Tayla Hobbs Lachie McLauchlan Angus Llewellyn Tiffany Mclauchlan Angus McGregor
3rd Nellie Jansen Eliza Llewellyn Sophie Halliday Harley Cobb Nat Grylls
4th Grace Jacob Oscar Johnson Caitlin Martin Lucas Kallady Mason Galpin
5th Johnny Fish Adam Wilke Ella Christie Lilli Stewart Kate Schoen
Encouragement Kayden Grist Mackenzie Semmens Michael Wilke Cassidy Plier Jack Laurie
Mia Gartner Riley Semmens Georgia Reuter Robert Neil Sean Mcintosh
Taylor Iwasiuk
Parader Champion Taylah Hobbs Casey Halliday Phoebe Christie Tiffany McLauchlan Sam Bird
Reserve Champion Emily Bond Jessica Parker Thomas Fogden Harley Cobb Marshall Arnold
Junior Judging Champion Emma Parker Oscar Johnson Angus Llewellyn Georgia Laurie Jack Laurie
Reserve Champion Nellie Jansen Olivia Toranto Abby Male Lucas Kallady Katie McGregor
3rd Taylah Hobbs Lochie McLauchlan Will Kosch Stephanie Henning Christopher Muller
4th Oliver Crotty Emily Pendlebury Phoebe Christie Lilli Stewart Mason Galpin
5th Grace Jacob Jessica Parker Brittany Abbott Ella Kain Angus McGregor
Encouragement Tomas Bond Eliza Llewellyn Sophie Halliday Jack Jansen Megan Bergsueinson
Johnny Fish McKenzie Semmens Thomas Fogden Alizah Fogden Rhys Branson
Grand Champion Herdsman Marshall Arnold
Grand Champion Parader Tiffany McLauchlan

Full Catalogue of results Thank you to our sponsors Photo Gallery