Calling for nominations for the 2018 Stewart Award

October 17, 2018 9:05 am

Without the generous support, assistance and enthusiasm of volunteers, the Angus Youth program would not be possible.  The Angus Youth program is calling for nominations for the Stewart Award 2018.

The Stewart Award (previously named the Angus Youth Helper of the Year Award) was commissioned in 2001 to recognise a person that has volunteered a large amount of time to the Angus Youth program that year.

The award is named after Bruce and Pat Stewart of Dunlop Park Angus, Tasmania, who over many years have contributed selflessly to the Angus Youth program.  Each year Bruce and Pat travelled to Wodonga to assist with the running Angus Youth National Judging Competition.  They have also worked tirelessly behind the scenes, picking lunches up, running people to and from transport depots, helped with the distribution and collection of place and question cards during animal judging and always were there to provide a helping hand and support or guidance to the Angus Youth program.

At the conclusion of each year, the current Angus Youth Consultative Committee select the recipient/s of the Stewart based on their outstanding contribution to the Angus Youth program.

The winner is then announced at either the Angus Youth National Roundup Special Dinner Dance ro an event that the recipient will be attending during the year, with their name included on the plaque they are presented with.

The 2017 recipient of the Stewart Award was Jasmine Green.  Jasmine contributed a large amount of time to the Angus Youth program through her participance in Angus Youth events before going on to become a committee member.

‘Jasmine’s wealth of knowledge and passion for the program have been an asset to Angus Youth and for the Angus Youth program to be able to help shape young leaders in the industry like Jasmine is a credit to the program,’ said Angus Australia then-Director, Dean Fredericksen upon presenting Jasmine with this award at the Thomas Foods International Angus Youth Roundup 2018.

If there is someone that you believe should be recognised by the Stewart Award for their outstanding and steadfast contributions to the Angus Youth Program, please send your nomination, including the reasons why you have nominated them to the Angus Australia Events and Youth Development Officer Candice Liddle at or on (02) 6773 4622.

Past winners:

2001 – Annie Reen
2002 – Rob Hutchinson
2003 – Steve Chase
2004 – Dougal Purcell
2005 – Hayley Moreland
2006 – Tim and Jessica Scott
2007 – Bruce and Cherry Steel
2008 – Bob Dent
2009 – Derek Lotz
2010 – Des and Carol Grylls
2011 – Stephen and Noeleen Branson
2012 – Melissa Neal
2013 – Erica and Stu Halliday
2014 – Mark and Lynn Fairlie
2015 – Bronwyn Halliday
2016 –  Ben Hill & Marg Will
2017- Jasmine Green

Top Image: Bruce & Pat Stewart at the Bendigo Roundup in 2008

Past Stewart Award Recipients