Nick Boshammer shortlisted for the 2019 Zanda McDonald Award

October 8, 2018 10:11 am

Former K-State Scholarship recipient, Nick Boshammer has been announced as a finalist in the 2019 Zanda McDonald Award.

Now in its fifth year, the award recognises innovative young professionals in agriculture from across Australasia. Five Australians and one from New Zealand have been selected as finalists for the 2019 award based on their passion for agriculture, strong leadership skills, and their vision for the primary industry.

Nick Boshammer, Director of NBG Holdings Pty Ltd in Chinchilla Queensland, operates NB-Glenoch Angus and was awarded the K State Scholarship in 2014, which saw him spend 6 months in the United States of America. A large part of that time was spent at the Kansas State University campus, one of the best agricultural university’s in the USA.

Interviews for the shortlisted Zanda McDonald applicants will take place in Brisbane in October, where a panel of nine judges will reduce the group of six down to three finalists.

Shane McManaway, award judge and chairman of the Platinum Primary Producers (PPP) – the Australasian networking group behind the award – says the judging panel were all really excited at the prospect of meeting this years shortlist. “The caliber of applicants for this years’ award have been superb. All six demonstrate great ambition and leadership skills, a desire to improve the industry and an unwavering passion for the ag sector.”

“This award is a tribute to Zanda McDonald, and to the enormous contribution he made to agri-business. The Zanda McDonald Award is all about helping agriculture’s future leaders unleash their career potential for the greater good of the industry. Our next task as judges is to select three finalists, and identify a winner who would clearly benefit from the $50,000 prize package and mentoring program.”

The three finalists will be announced towards the end of the year, and will be invited to attend the PPP Conference in Port Douglas in May 2019. The winner will be announced at the event.