Report from 101st Angus Australia AGM and Board meeting conducted on 28th May 2020

June 4, 2020 12:59 pm

The 101st Angus Australia Annual General Meeting (AGM) was conducted on Thursday 28th May 2020 with 23 members present via videoconference and a further 12 members by proxy.

At the AGM, President Brad Gilmour tabled the Financial Report for the Angus Society of Australia and Controlled Entity, the Director’s Declaration, and the Independent Auditors Report for the financial year ended 31 December 2019.

The President acknowledged that in 2019 there were 29 members recognized with 25 years of membership; and, 15 members recognised with 50 years continuous membership including P R Grieve (NSW);  Pine Creek (NSW); I D & M E Mills (Vic); D H & F A Macleay (WA); J C Maling (Vic); Old Murroa Partnership (Vic); W J Atkin (QLD); Goonamurrah Pastoral Co (NSW); J Parfett (NSW); S W Davidson (SA); Franc Farming Pty Ltd (Vic);  A J & B R Moyle & N B Moyle (Vic); Brooks Rural (WA);  Eastern Plains Pastoral Co (NSW); and, Clea Pastoral Co Pty Ltd (NSW).

The President also advised that during 2019, Honorary Life Membership was awarded to Mr James Litchfield from Hazeldean Cooma, and to former Angus Australia Chairman Mr John Young, Strathtay Angus WA, in acknowledgement of their life-time contributions to the Angus Breed.

At the AGM, Mr Gilmour also noted the passing of Life Members Mrs Joy Potter, Mr Keith McFarlane in 2019, and in recent weeks Mr James Litchfield, Mr Colin Lyons and Mr Andrew Gubbins; and, extended his sincere condolences to the families of these Life Members who, all in their unique ways, made enormous contributions to Angus Australia and to the success of the Angus breed over many years.

The President advised that the following Directors would form the 2020 Angus Australia Board: from NSW – Mrs Erica Halliday, Mr Sam White and Dr Laurie Denholm; from Queensland – Mr Brett Piraner; from Western Australia – Mr Andrew Kuss; from Victoria – Mr Brad Gilmour and Mr Hamish McFarlane; from Tasmania – Mr Jock Hughes; and, from South Australia – Mr Perry Gunner.  Mr Gilmour advised that, as per requirements of the Angus Australia Constitution, having completed 2 terms in the role he would be retiring from the position of President at the conclusion of the AGM.

At the subsequent Board meeting conducted following the AGM, Mr Sam White was elected as President, and Mrs Erica Halliday as Vice-President, for the term up to and including the 2021 AGM.

Full minutes of the 2020 AGM are available to members via the Members Area of the Angus Australia website.

At the Board meeting, Directors considered the following items:

  • Composition of Board Committees
  • Board Charter and Board Integrity Statement
  • Directors Deed of Access and Indemnity
  • Management report on progress against Operational Plan KPIs
  • Policy on multi-breed genetic evaluation
  • Initial consideration of Member Survey results
  • Initial discussion on potential changes to Constitution
  • Provision of EBVs for inclusion in genetic evaluations for other breeds
  • Proposed changes to format for unique Animal Identifiers
  • Review of the notation used in the names of red animals to denote their colour
  • Review of parent verification requirements in cases where pedigree changes are requested for ET calves
  • Consideration of breeder request to customize EBV displays in AngusTech

Where relevant, further information will be provided to the membership over coming weeks on specific items resolved by the Board, including the details and timing of any resulting Regulation changes.

The next Board meeting will be conducted on the 20-21st August 2020.

Peter Parnell

Chief Executive Officer

4th June 2020