Youth sucess at Beef Australia 2015

November 28, 2015 3:18 pm

Report by Hannah Powe

Beef Australia 2015, held in Rockhampton, QLD, is the biggest beef cattle event within Australia. This year Angus Youth members came together from across the country to not only compete within the led cattle classes but also to have a successful presence in all junior sections of the cattle program.

On Sunday the 3rd of May, the Prime Young Judges competition kicked off the start of Beef Australia 2015. Competitiors are to judge four pens of cattle on market suitability, muscling, conformation and eveness of the pen with the top five judges in each category going on to give oral presentations. Stand out Angus Youth achievements in this category included;

  • Chloe Gould – 1st Place (18 – 25 years)
  • Angus McGregor – 2nd Place (18 – 25 years)
  • Cameron Fowke – Top 5 (18 – 25 years)
  • Sarah Peters – 1st place (16 – 17 years)
  • Lauren Moody – 1st Place (12 – 15 years)

Congratulations to Sarah Peters who went on to be named the Grand Champion Prime Young Judge and to also recieve the Jan Sinclair Memorial Perpetual Trophy.

Wednesday was an early start for many with Angus Judging kicking off at 8am. Thankyou to the three Angus Youth Beef Australia 2015 Scholarship Recipients, Lachie Collins, Josh Dawson and Laura Grubb for their hard work during judging as stewards and the ring announcer. Congratulations to those Angus Youth members whose cattle also placed in their respective classes.

The final day of Beef Australia 2015 saw over 500 junior competitiors come together in the main ring to showcase their skills in both the parader’s and junior judging classes. This was a huge contingence of youth in the beef industry with over 100 in each of the age categories making competition tough. Congratulations to all those Angus Youth members who competed in both the Junior Judging and Parader’s Competitions. Well done to the following who placed in their categories:

Junior Judging

Chloe Gould – 2nd Place (18 – 25 years)

Heidi Nicholls – 1st Place (16 – 17 years)


Cameron Fowke – 1st Place (18 – 25 years)
Chloe Gould – 2nd Place (18 – 25 years)
Angus McGregor – 5th Place (18 – 25 years)
Hamish McLachlan – 1st Place (16 – 17 years)
Heidi Nicholls – 3rd Place (16 – 17 years)
Isobel Robertson – Top 10 (12 – 15 years)

Congratulations to Hamish McLachlan who went on to win Grand Champion Parader.

Angus Youth congratulate’s all its members on another successful national event!